Chinese-Forums

Changing rmb to US dollars

paulfmeier

• New Members

I have been a consultant for a Chinese company for 3 years and spend 4 months a year in China (30-40 days per trip). I purchase my plane ticket in the US but my salary and reimbursement are in rmb. Money exchange has been my biggest problem. As you are probably aware, a foreigner is limited to exchanging rmb to $500 per day but a Chinese citizen can exchange rmb to $10,000. The company for whom I consult will occassionally provide a person to help me exchange money, but I also go alone every day to the bank.

I have looked at electronic transfer and discussed this with Beijing banks, but it is prohibitively difficult. Does anyone know of a way to get around this problem? It is very time consuming to spend an hour each day at the bank, as well as carrying large sums of money back home on the plane.

Not sure if this works for a foreigner but I don't think it shouldn't.

Goto Bank of China. Open a visa/master card credit card (although acts like a debit card where you need money deposited to spend). Make sure you get the type that deposits RMB and withdraws USD.

When you are in the US, you're still limited from a daily withdrawal of 500 USD or something. However, you are bringing home a credit card with money, not real cash that you can use for day to day purchases in the US.

• Like 1

Doubt you'd get a credit card without being actually employed and resident in China, and it sounds like you're not. Might be worth a look. Throw Hong Kong in the mix somehow? Some people just carry bags of cash over the border.

• Like 1

I'm not sure I really understand how this "limit" is enforced in the mainland. Are the only places where you can change money government controlled? No money changing stalls after every street like in HK or black markets?