Chinese-Forums

Bringing Family to Study in China 2013

pprendeville

Getting an early headsup on what to expect for when I got to China in 2013 to do my 3rd year aborad. I'm a mature student doing Chinese & Internationl Business and will be 31 when we make the move. My wife is Chinese (from near Shijiazhuang) and is out of touch with the goings on in China. We have 3 daughters and hope the family doesn't expand come next year. Have a few questions I hope I can find answers for:

1. I'm assuming it will be way too expensive for all of my family to stay in Beijing together so the provisional plan is for my wife to stay with her family with our kids while I study and I can visit at weekends. Is it remotely possible that we might be able to find relatively afforadable accomadation near either Beijing & Language Cultural University or The Central University of Nationalities? Our budget for the year will be fairly tight so I'm not too optimistic with regards to a positive outcome on this one.
  2. Can students stay off-campus or would it end up being more expensive than staying in student dorms?
  3. What's the price of a train ticket and the time duration from Beijing to Shijiazhuang these days? Last time I took one which was in 2005 and the train was not the quickest but I believe they have upgraded to pretty fast ones in the last few years?
  4. Will it be a problem bring 3 kids to China for a year? They have Irish citizenship.

Will probably add more questions but these are my main concern for now.

Cheers,

1) depends on what you think is affordable and the standard you are looking for. But if you take a room in a shared flat thats usually not too expensive. Might be with a bunch of 20 year old students - not sure if thats what you are looking for as a "mature student" ;)