Chinese-Forums

From intermediate to advanced level

xuefang

I would like to get advice and start discussion about how to get from intermediate to advanced level in Chinese.

For me it feels like that getting to the intermediate stage is not that hard, but getting to advanced (then to fluency) is the hard part. I constantly feel that I'm not improving or progress to slowly. I'm doing a Chinese as a foreign language undergraduate degree so I'm a full-time Chinese language student. Still it doesn't seem to be enough.

I found some interesting information online about how to get through the plateau and get to the advanced level. (Some of my own comments in italics.)

Dave at Chinese Hacks: Progressing from intermediate to advanced Chinese

• Continue on and make it through
  • Whatever it is that interests you, learn that (Have limited time for this because of my degree, but all the extra studying I try to keep as interesting as possible)
  • Spend a few hours per week or once a day if you have time, reading and listening to online news reports (This I still haven't done, because don't find it that interesting, but I should still do it.)
  • You need to pick the right teacher for each level of learning (Can't really choose my teachers.)

Jack C. Richards: Moving Beyong the Plateau

In this article Jack goes over the problems that many upper-intermediate students have:

• There is a gap between receptive and productive competence.
  • Fluency may have progressed at the expense of complexity.
  • Learners have a limited vocabulary range.
  • Language production may be adequate but often lacks the
    characteristics of natural speech.
  • There are persistent, fossilized language errors.

> I think I have all the problems he listed on this article!

Alexander Arguelles:

(Youtube)

In this video Alexander answers to a quetions on how to get from 2000/3000 words to 7000 words (from Assimil to extensive reading skills). Here are some techniques to try: