Chinese-Forums

[Absolute Beginner] Correct Pronunciation

zeroByte

Hi,

as the title states I'm new to chinese and I'm a bit confused with the pronunciation (not the tones themselves). The cause is that I found several possible pronunciations for the same word and no clue which one is "a" "official" one :)

I've just recorded a very basic sentence and would beg you to simply listen and give me feedback whether a) this is understandable and b) there are any severe mistakes.

I'm sorry for the quality, the best microphone I have is my Android.

(You'll need a decent player like VLC for .amr)

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/70134012/Sprachmemo%20004.amr

(Otherwise take this version, but it's quality is even worse!)

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/70134012/Sprachmemo%20004.mp3

Thanks in Advance!

Regards,

Yeah, I can understand everything you're saying or trying to say. It's fairly accurate pronunciation, however, there are a few little mistakes that could be overlooked in everyday conversation.

Your script: Hello Teacher Chen. This is my elder bro. He is HuaiYu(?) Hello teacher! Hello my friend. Are you also a teacher? Hello, I'm not a teacher, I'm a doctor(?) Li Bo, is this your paternal grandmother? No, she's my maternal grandmother. Hello maternal grandmother (Nan).

Two improvements you could make 1. Yi sheng (doctor) not Yu sheng.

2. Nai nai. The first syllable should be in 3rd tone and the second should be neutral (toneless and softer).

Have fun learning Chinese!

He is a teacher for foreign languages: (wàiyu , third tone on u). I'm glad it's not that bad, you never know :)

Are the few little mistakes the two ones you pointed out below in your post? I'd be interested even in subtle faults; it's hard to learn a language. But it's even harder to relearn it ;-)

Thank you very much for your comments!

Regards,

So...you want to get down to the nitty gritty hey? That's fine with me.

Continuing on from my first response: