Chinese-Forums

Mandarin course at university: extremely hard

andrespi

Hi,

so I just finished my first year in a university in UK (I'm italian, so I can udnerstand english quite well but it's not my mother tongue). I'm doing a BA in International relations and Chinese (joint degree). I have been extremely unsatisfied with my chinese course. They told us (at the beginning of the year and during the open day) that the course was suitable for a complete beginner and if one studies hard enough he could get good scores. But now I found out that it wasn't true for the following reasons:

1) Out of 20 people, 3 persons didn't pass. Half of the class (people who were complete beginners like me) got a bare pass (which is bad if I want to get a good degree in UK), and the other half of the class are people who studied chinese for years or have lived in China. I'm really demotivated, because I didn't pass my final exam for 3 points, but I passed all the other exams during the year. During the year I studied between 10 and 15 hours per week (only for chinese, not including lectures and without the other IR modules and lectures)

2) In the course they didn't teach us radicals, we have no idea of what they are or how to identify them. We just have to learn about 40 characters for week without knowing how they are composed by radicals.

3) They didn't teach us how to use a dictionary looking up a character (I had to buy one for myself because they didn't even tell us to buy one). Because since we NEVER did radicals we can't find a character without its pronunciation. We can look for the pinyin, but we are not able to find characters (because of our lack of knowledge on radicals).