Chinese-Forums

Taiwan Scholarship Advice Needed

PopaJay

I could do with the help of anyone with any experience in Study Scholarships in Taiwan... Or the links to any previous threads I've missed.

I am a Chinese Studies graduate (of a few years ago), I'm currently teaching in the mainland and working on my language the rest of the time. I'd really like to go to Taiwan to do a masters in Chinese literature/culture, but first I'd ideally want to do at least half a year of language/reading courses somewhere like the MTC, partly to be able to scope out the postgrad scene on the ground.

Trouble is I can't afford to do it without the MOE scholarship and, according to their website, I'm ineligible because I'm someone who "Has already received a HES or a Taiwan scholarship, in the past." I spent a summer session at the MTC in 2006 during my first year as an undergraduate. It seems a bit unfair that I should be disqualified from getting it again with very different aims, a long time later.

But anyway, does anyone know if they (BACS/MOE) consider exceptions on eligibility?

Or does anyone know of other scholarships that cover this kind of thing?

...Or of any other 'access' type courses that might help someone who hasn't studied in Chinese before.

Thanks!

Where in Taiwan are you thinking of doing the masters degree in Chinese literature/culture? As for scholarships I think maybe OneEye and others in the Forums could answer some of those questions.

I've heard (and I have no idea how accurate this is), that if you just apply anyway they won't notice. It might be worth looking into. Forumosa.com would have more information on this, I'm sure. Otherwise, I've heard that the Taipei City Government does have some scholarships available, though I don't know anything about that.