Chinese-Forums

mission impossible: 300-400 characters a month?

Mekkalomp

I have read a lot of posts on this forum on how to learn Chinese characters and some established people here said that they can learn this kind of amount in a month by serious study. Which in my opinion it is impossible. This mean you can be fluent in Chinese in 1-2 years

If it is possible what and how do you exactly do? I know that we people do not get the same progressive results but still it cant be such great difference. Of course there are some exceptions.

By the way what do you guys mean by serious studying? 40 hours a week like studying full time at college? I know that these college curriculum aim at 1000-1200 characters in a year and they even study abroad!!!

I am now studying new hsk level 1 for two weeks and I have not even master it completely at all. About 50% written and reading in hsk level 1

My current skill is:

hsk level 1-5 90% oral

hsk level 6 only 30-50% in oral

Confused about these kind of posts:

Is 9 months or so enough time to learn probably around 400 - 500 characters?

Absolutely. If you're serious, it shouldn't take you longer than a month.

This kind of question gets asked pretty regularly on this forum in some form or other.

I would say trying to do that many in one month may be possible but you may suffer from burnout and become completely fed up with it.

Unless you have some very good reason for learning this much per month, I would say slow down, take time to savour the chinese language and really learn the characters.

It is different for everyone as to how fast and how much you can/want to learn.