Chinese-Forums

Who is Yip Po-Ching

bluetortilla

I am studying Basic Chinese, A Grammar and Workbook by Yip Po-Ching and Don Rimmington. Among the more exotic enunciations are things like zhèi instead of zhè and others. Where does this zhèi pronunciation come from? And it doesn't sound to me like Yip Po-Ching is a Chinese name but I guess I'm wrong.

I do like the book a lot though, and would recommend it to others.

• Like 1

Where does this zhèi pronunciation come from?

zhèi is a contraction of zhè yī (这一).

And it doesn't sound to me like Yip Po-Ching is a Chinese name but I guess I'm wrong.

It is a Chinese name, but is translitterated from its (presumably) Cantonese pronunciation. The characters are 叶步青.

• Helpful 1

lol. Well, I had to give credit where it's due. But it seems our coauthor's name isn't easy to pin down either, though you might just think it British. Those enigmatic Chinese grammarians...

And what's up with heavy use of books, tables, and beer in all the examples? Jeez, I can give boring examples too, but not at that frequency. They must have collaborated in a very small room.

zhèi is a contraction of zhè yī (这一).

Is there a good source for this? I'm curious, because I've heard this before, but I've always assumed that it's just northern colloquial thing, where many characters end up being pronounced with an -ei ending.

Think of shei (谁/shui), sei (塞/sai), cei (梡), etc.

Maybe it did start off as a contraction of 这一, but I can think of some examples where this explanation doesn't fit today: e.g. "zhei yang" is "这样", not "这一样", "zhei bianr" is not "这一边儿", etc.

Re cei4, this thread is relevant

Ah, I see, it seems like nciku is using font substitution, because the character (卒+瓦) is not common in fonts.