Chinese-Forums

Best way to learn characters

Beginnerneedinghelp

Hi everyone, as my name suggests I'm just getting started.

From personal experience and the way in which you may have been taught; what did you find was the best, most efficient and systematic method for learning Chinese characters?

At the moment, i've learnt about 200 characters by making up little stories for each - which, i'm assuming is the worst way to go about it!

Thanks everyone, all proposals welcome!

Making up stories is actually a really good thing to do. These stories are called mnemonics and are a very powerful memory tool.

In terms of systematic learning of characters, there have been several books attempting to organise characters in a logical progression, Heisig being the most well known. None of these systems have been as successful with Chinese as they have with Japanese (which uses mostly the same characters), for a variety of reasons, but they are probably better than a completely random approach. At the end of the day, Chinese characters are a result of thousands of years of evolution, and they are simply not as systematic as we would like. There is system, but also lots of illogical features that are typical of real people and real history.

The bottom line is that some of these approaches do help, but not as much as people hope. Learning characters requires rolling up your sleeves and grinding, even with the best approach. Everyone I know who worked their way to literacy has done the grind. Personally, I took the list of most commonly used characters and flashcarded them into oblivion. I figured that this would be faster than figuring out the best order first :)