Chinese-Forums

Monthly cost of living in Guangzhou for a couple of teachers

calaska623

• New Members

Good evening all,

My husband and I are moving to Guangzhou in March. We will be teaching English. We both have TESOL certificates and I have an Associates Degree in an totally unrelated subject. I'm really not sure how much respect an Associates Degree gets in China, but we hope the TESOL qualifications will be useful for getting legal teaching jobs that will provide work visas.

Our original plans involved a much smaller, less expensive city. But things change and now we're headed to Guangzhou. So my research starts anew...

I'd very much appreciate any info regarding:

1 - RENT: A ballpark amount? We'll be looking for a two bedroom apt. (We will have a single friend traveling and living with us.) We've looked online and found all manner of fancy expat accommodations. These are not the apartments we are looking for. We don't want to spend a ton of money and we don't need all the western niceties. A simple (hopefully furnished, but not a deal breaker) apartment with a kitchen we can use is what we need. (I'm not gonna lie...a washing machine would MAKE MY DAY, but I'll live without it if I have to.) We don't anticipate raking in huge amounts of money and we don't need to live like we do. We'll be there for the experience and language learning. To that end, if anyone has any advice on where we could look to scope out the apartment scene before we arrive, that'd be great. If you know of a website that doesn't cater to expats, even if it's totally in Chinese, we'd appreciate it.