Chinese-Forums

New HSK level 5 Advice

xuebi

Hello,

I would like to ask all the experienced learners if it is possible to pass new HSK level 5 within a year? Due to being too busy in a years' time with exams.

Currently, I think I'm at new HSK level 2. I have been reading primary school kid books which are very simple. It is mostly self study and some basics from a native speaker.

I have been looking into HSK prep with online Chinese schools so far I've contacted That's Mandarin, eChineseLearning and Capital Mandarin. Does anyone know of any good online Mandarin schools? The prices vary and some of the schools ask me to take 4 lessons per day, 5 days a week at $20 each which is about $21000 a year. I don't think that's an option. That is quite expensive as I have a friend studying Chinese at university for $700 a term or semester. Due to my current schedule as a full-time student I think I can take only 1 or 2 lessons per day plus reviewing the lessons and HSK vocabulary list.

I own NPCR textbook one and two. I am not sure whether I should use them as study material yet.

I use the eStroke app for the new HSK level 5 vocabulary list.

Is it sufficent to learn the new HSK level 5 vocabulary list to pass the new HSK level 5 exam or do you need to learn other characters? I have a 10000 Chinese Character list by PinyinTutor.com I'm not sure whether it is accurate or helpful but if I need to learn more characters I'll use that. Does anyone recommend vocabulary lists? I also heard for the new HSK level 5 exam you should learn the new HSK level 6 vocabulary list is that true?

I plan to attempt to learn both simp.and trad. versions of the characters.

My Study Plan:

Learn-

15 words from new HSK level 5 per day(definition, pinyin, writing, stroke order etc) both versions

Use Gurulu for 30 minutes or more if I don't enroll in online Mandarin school