Chinese-Forums

iPad for Learning Chinese

adripv

Hi,

I have been given an iPad for Xmas and I would like to use it for helping me with my Chinese ( I have been studying for already 5 years). Do you have any recommendation of interesting apps? Also, I would like to have a dictionary on it. The little research I have made only refers to tools that are useful for beginners, and I was wondering if you happen to know good resources for more advanced learners.

Thank you!

Pleco (free), and it's Reader and Flashcard add-ons (in app purchases) - these together meet a vast majority of a Chinese student's needs.

Qiyi, Youku, Sogou, etc video apps are also good for viewing video, if you are at that level. All free.

ChinesePod has a great app, if you are a subscriber.

A bit of self-promotion for my company's app....

http://manmanlai.net

ManManLai is an integrated dictionary and learning assistant...

• dictionary with search (characters, pinyin and other romanization schemes, and English)

• flashcards

• HSK vocabulary lists

• miaohong (描紅) character writing.

It's designed for iPhone and iPod but runs fine on the iPad, and it's being actively developed.

Matt

A major omission on Skritter - especially since I use it daily. Good catch mikelove!

A good Flipboard alternative is Zaker - not sure about regional restrictions.

Another obvious one is the Weibo app, although Weico is a more popular front end.

AllSet learning has a free app called AllSet Pinyin that may be helpful if you are just getting off the ground - good to drill your pronunciation.

Popup Chinese has a app called HSK Test (iPhone, but find on iPad) that is great if you are trying to evaluate your level or get random tests here and there.

• Like 1

Can anyone recommend a quick, straight up, simple dictionary for iPad/Pod? I used to use a combination of Hanping Chinese and Pleco on my Android but now I've just got an iPad and hanping isnt available.