Chinese-Forums

which chinese musical insturment should i chose?

wanjunK

Hi, i am new here . Hope you guys can help . :D

I want to learn a chinese musical instrument but i don't know which one i should chose to learn. I have a piano background and am currently playing guitar. I am considering learning the erhu (二胡) or guzheng( 古筝) . which one do you guys think is the best or easiest ? i have read some forums and it say guzheng is more suitable for a piano player. But i'm thinking of trying different things. What do you think?

i need some opinions :wink: . please n thankyou !

I'm not a musician, but I suspect guzheng is more versatile than erhu.

Erhu can sound nice(ish) if it's played well, but most people don't play well, judging by what one hears on the street in China, and that's pretty terrible.

• Like 1

erhu is fretless isn't it? so staying in tune is harder than with pipa. I don't know about guzheng.

I agree that you should select an instrument which sound you like, and in addition you may want to check the repertoire available for that instrument. If it is limited in diversity, you had better like that type of music...

• Like 1

If you want easy, it depends on what you've played before. From the piano and guitar, going either erhu or zheng would work, as erhu note spacing is quite straightforward (like a piano) and zheng have nonlinear pitch distances like a guitar (but without string stopping). As I play the violin, the erhu was quite intuitive for me. Others might find intonation difficult at first. Another thing one might consider is that zheng is a more traditional (Han) instrument, while huqin were imported from central Asia. Also consider that to play zheng, you have to wear plectra.