Chinese-Forums

Year in Shanghai - Want to maximize (Chinese/Job/Homestay)

Gabrca

• New Members

Hi,

Hope you all are well! I am looking into going to live in Shanghai for a year starting around June, I have had some past study abroad experience in Shanghai before and am taking a mini "gap year" so to speak. My Chinese is lower intermediate (upper beginner) at present. If anyone could answer any of these questions, I'd be much obliged!

1. So my goal of the year is to bump my Chinese up to HSK 5/6 level. Would you recommend a full time Chinese University Language programme (I know East China Normal has an intensive one), or a private school, or combination of both? The University level offers more structure, wheras with a private school I may be able to really excel.

2. For those of you who tutor part time on the side, how much is a realistic rate to charge, and do you find it difficult to find clients? I've heard around 150-250RMB average per hour.

3. I'm also looking into finding a nice homestay to really "immerse" myself for the year. I've heard stories of people living rent-free in exchange for someone to talk to their children in English for an hour or two a day. Any advice on where to find a good family for this? My experience in China is word of mouth tends to be the best route.

Also, as an aside. I love Shanghai, but am worried about falling into an expat bubble. Would anyone recommend Suzhou/Hangzhou/Wuxi to live? How is the mandarin in these places?

Sorry for the question overload, like I said if you can answer any of them I'd be very happy.

Thanks very much!

Best,

Gavin

I love Shanghai, but am worried about falling into an expat bubble.