Chinese-Forums

relative clause and attributive clause

tooironic

I hope this is the right forum for this.

My question is about relative clauses (关系从句/关系字句) in English. Whenever I've asked Chinese people about them they don't understand what I'm talking about until I explain they're when you use "which", "that", "who", etc. to describe a noun. They then usually reply that they know these as 定语从句. But is 定语从句 the same thing? Apparently this is translated as "attributive clause" but I've never heard of such a thing, though I get the general meaning of it when I read the term.

I always assumed them to be the same and used them interchangeably. However, the book I'm reading right now, A generative Grammar of Mandarin Chinese, talks about two types of 定语从句 (and claims that is how they are traditionally referred to): 同位语句 and 关系语句. These two have different syntactic structures. So that might be something to consider.

I also feel confused. I am studying English, and in our grammar book 关系从句 includes 定语从句, but it does not tell the difference.(the name of our grammar book is 新编英语语法教程 a new english grammar coursebook)

I believe 关系从句 is a direct translation from the English (or another Indo-European language's) linguistic terminology for a concept that doesn't really exist in Mandarin, which is probably why most Chinese people would have no idea what it is.

定语从句 is the term I think most Chinese people would be most familiar with, but perhaps only through their English studies. From what I can tell, Chinese linguists sometimes use 定语从句 and 关系从句 to talk about the same thing, but that is not surprising seeing as different English linguists do it too.