Chinese-Forums

Need some help with my master's thesis

MasterLi

Hi,

I am looking for people to help me out by doing the course I designed for HSK 4 and HSK 5 learners on Memrise. I am studying a master's and writing my thesis on westerners learning Chinese characters, I plan to use anonymised data from the course as part of this thesis. Here is a link http://www.memrise.c...one-characters/, please don't write any mems for the time being.

Thanks for your time everyone. If you have any questions about Chinese, university in China or HSK 6 (which I passed last year) please ask - even if you don't have time to take part in the study.

It is just 60 characters that appear both on the HSK4 and HSK5 lists. The participants will learn the characters and then perform proficiency tests based on the meaning or pronunciation. I initially want to analyse which characters are easier for foreigners to learn and later plan to make some changes to the course to see if it can be more effective. No profits will be gained from the experiment and none of the data will be used for any other purpose than the write-up of my study.

How are you accounting for the fact that learners will inevitably already know some of the characters better than others?

Edit: also discovered a small error, 喝 should be hē not hé.

Edit 2: also 扔 should be rēng not rèng.

Edit 3: and are these really HSK 4-5 level words? Most of them seem far too basic. (Sorry about the multiple edits, I'm looking through this stuff as I type).

Edit 4: 逛 guàng not guāng.

Hi,

Thanks for the feedback and corrections. Those mistakes did not exist on the more relevant pronunciation level but were careless all the same; if you see any more let me know.