Chinese-Forums

rude with rice

beqstar

I have a question. Is it considered extremely rude to waste rice and noodles in China?? I feel horrible because often I leave most of my rice and noodles untouched, but after all the food eaten BEFORE, i cannot handle all of it. For me, a bowl of rice is a meal, (and kind of a tasteless one). I hope I am not offending my Chinese friends...any advice??

Since coming to China, I've been told more than once that they love (ie. have an inexorable habit of) wasting food here (my observations tend to agree with this advisment); on the other hand, any time I'm eating at someone else's invite, I never seem to be able to eat enough to satisfy them.

It's a strange new world. I'm no expert, but I'd suggest: be polite, plan ahead (you might want to start talking about being full before you really are--that way you can seem like you're trying to please without massive discomfort), be willing to budge a little here and there, and don't worry too much.

Yes, it is extremely rude not to finish your rice.

For me, a bowl of rice is a meal, (and kind of a tasteless one).

Rice is tasteless, so nobody eats rice alone by itself. Try to see how other Chinese eat their rice.

In China, it's okay to not "drink" the soup that comes with the noodles, but in Japan you have to finish that soup too until nothing falls down when you flip the bowl.

外人・・・様!
And that's a LOT of MSG.

中国料理を食べるなら・・・

でも、伝統的な和食(味噌汁などは)だいぶ違うでしょう。

Rice is tasteless, so nobody eats rice alone by itself. Try to see how other Chinese eat their rice

Anyway, in Japan, mixing something into rice is a big no-no. I guess it isn't in China?

Also, how much is rice in China? I've seen a bag of rice for Akita for 8000 yen in Tokyo, not cheap at all!

thanx incredibly for the advice on

'watching how the chinese eat their rice'

because you know, usually, i close my eyes during a meal.