Chinese-Forums

Advice for intermediate self-study (reading, vocabulary building)

thomasdf

• New Members

Hello everybody,

I'm new to this forum and I would appreciate if you could give me some advice regarding intermediate-level books for self study...

I don't know my exact level according to HSK levels, but if it can help, I finished studying NPCR4 (which I enjoyed) a few months ago, I frequently use Chinesepod (slowly starting my transition to "Upper-intermediate" and I'm studying with a tutor "A course in Chinese colloquial idioms". With a lot of patience (and a dictionary), I also started reading simple newspaper articles..

I'd like to improve my overall level, but as I'm practicing a lot of speaking with the tutor, I thought I could focus my self-study on reading & vocabulary building.

I liked the format of NPCR, but i heard NPCR5 was very literary. I was considering a switch to the Boya series, but I'm not quite sure which level would suit me, and that that there were maybe better alternatives available on the market.

I also found "Chinese Language and culture: An intermediate level" which seemed interesting to practicing reading about more serious contents (http://www.amazon.ca...d=ICF65V2S8ZZRT) Is anybody familiar with this book or this series?

Thank you all for your help

It sounds like you're already at a decent level. I'd suggest focusing on Chinesepod and speaking with your tutor. I just started using Chinesepod and I think it's great. Take the time to cut out the dialogues and study those. You've got real-life dialogues, tons of new words, the pdf's to read, and the recordings to go with it. I've known several people to do nothing more than listen to chinesepod and talk to Chinese people in order to reach fluency. I just wish I had more time to do it.