Chinese-Forums

2 month stay in Beijing - concerns of mine + what should I know?

NewChineseBoy

• New Members

Hi guys,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to life in China (read: a foreign country) so I may ask some really stupid questions but please bear with me. I'll be visiting Beijing for about two months and it'll be my first trip to China (I've lived in the USA my whole life).

First of all, are there any accommodations in Beijing that offer month-to-month leases? I'd prefer not to live in a hotel since it's expensive plus there's no kitchen and if I'm going to stay for that long, I'd want to cook my own food. What are some good/safe neighborhoods that I should consider?

Secondly, I have a smartphone with T-Mobile. How do I go about getting cellphone/data access in China? I'm assuming T-Mobile will either not work in China or charge me exorbitant roaming rates. Will I need a completely new number and cellphone or can I just purchase a SIM card and slide it into my phone?

Thirdly, how do I go about getting my place WiFi enabled? Is there a way I can purchase Internet access through a phone carrier or a Internet Service Provider? I have a Macbook Air so maybe some sort of USB Access Point would be best?

Fourth, is the air quality really as bad as I read? I've heard horror stories of tourists coughing up a storm when they visit.

Fifthly, another scary thing I read about is government monitoring. Is it true that my apartment/hotel room may be bugged or Big Brother may be watching my Internet access or call history? I don't want to get any malicious software installed or planted without me knowing!! I'm starting to develop a sort of paranoia here.

Well, now that I've gone off the deep end, I better end my post here. One last thing: is there anything else that I need to know as a dumb American about life in Beijing (e.g. transportation, food, culture)?

Thanks for any and all help in answering my concerns.

I can help you a little.