Chinese-Forums

Japan travel advice, please

muirm

I'm going to Japan for the first time in September. I'll have one week to travel around, and one week in Tokyo. Im still ironing out my itinerary, but my (tentative) plan is to train from Tokyo hitting Mt. Fuji, Kyoto, and Osaka, seeing, eating, and soaking as I go.

I think there are some members here that know a lot about Japan, so I wanted to solicit any Japan travel advice you'd be willing to share. It can be specific places to go (or not bother with), or general travel tips.

As for my Japanese level, I've been studying hard for 6 months and I would say I'm conversational/intermediate (I also took a year of community college classes a few years back). As a side note, sometimes I feel like I'm cheating knowing both Chinese and English - vocabulary acquisition is quite pain-free.

• Like 1

I have not been to Japan for years. But if I were you I would take a couple of days from Tokyo and spend them in Kyoto instead. For me, 4-5 days in Tokyo and 4-5 days in Kyoto+Nara sound about right.

As to general travel tips, take lots of money. If you've been living in China, especially in a smaller city, you will most likely have a bit of sticker shock.

Of course it will help that you can speak some of the language. When I went, I couldn't, and that always increases the "foreigner tax."

I don't know, I spent 3 days in Kyoto in April, and it just about did me in. There's only so many temples and cherry blossom trees one can take, however beautiful they are. But I spent a week in Tokyo last December and wished I could stay longer. Don't get me wrong, I loved Kyoto/Osaka/Nara when I went, but Tokyo was much more fun for me. Then again, Kyoto in the fall is supposed to be unreal.

The Tsukiji fish market (築地市場) is a must-see. I didn't see the tuna auction, but I got there around 9:30am and just wandered around and took it all in. Then I picked a random sushi joint and took off straight to heaven.