Chinese-Forums

Teaching in China...?

Korat28

Hi All,

I am currently teaching in Thailand and when the school year ends in March I am thinking about moving to China to teach for 6 months. I don't need to be in a city the size of Shanghai or Beijing or what not, I am open to trying a new place, as long as it's not a rural, small town. Anyhow, I have my BA degree, TEFL and 3 years of teaching experience. Thus, if moving to China in April and looking for a 6 month contract, what can I expect? How is the pay and how much could I save if I live modest to frugally and I'm outside the huge cities? What are the big cultural differences between China and say, Thailand in terms of people and everyday life?

Thanks again everyone! :-)

• 2 weeks later...

Look into Guilin 桂林 in Guangxi 广西 province. Its not a big city at all and is probably one of the most beautiful cities you will ever visit. The topography there is unmatched. There are plenty of teaching positions available in all types of schools, from elementary to university. There is a pretty good university in the city called GuangXi Normal Universitry which is a common place for foreigners to teach. Not to meantion, if you are looking to improve your Chinese skills, there is a great American langauge school there called CLI (Chinese Langauge Institute). I have study there now and its pretty incredible how fast your Chinese can improve!

As for wages, you can expect around 4,000 RMB a month at most places you will teach, but if you are a workaholic you can easily pick up tutoring gigs on the side and make a few extra thousand a month. The cost of living in Guilin is fairly low too. Its a tourist town, so you can easily find your overpriced places, but the reasonably priced isn't too hard to find either. I'd say, if you live a frugal lifestyle, you can easily save more than half your monthly earnings.