Chinese-Forums

I'm not quite sure how to go about increasing my reading skills

Fishyesque

• New Members

I'm fairly new at learning Mandarin, but I'm a fast learner and I'm really excited about it. My main focus is speaking, but I'd like to work on reading skills here and there. I came across Harry Potter in Mandarin, but I haven't the slightest idea of how to go about understanding it. I've got Pleco, and was using it to translate the characters/character combinations but with characters having multiple possible meanings based on context, I'm not sure what the best way would be to go about this process.

Thanks in advance!

It's not that easy, I'm afraid.

Just like any other language, Chinese has a complex grammar and a large vocabulary, and both need to be learned. The lack of word boundaries in Chinese is an additional obstacle: you don't know where a word begins and ends unless you a) know the word or b) understand sentence grammar well enough to figure it out.

Reading is something you get better at by doing lots of reading, but Harry Potter is a difficult book. You should start with something much simpler. The best way to go about it is following a good textbook, which will start you with simple reading and make it progressively more difficult. From there, you can try simple comic books, more complex comic books, simple short stories, simple books, and then finally a proper full-length book.

I started with New Practical Chinese reader, then switched over to Doraemon, then Ranma 1/2, then Ba Jin, then Jin Yong (actually, I did the last two in the opposite order, but this order makes more sense). You need the volume because your ability to recognise familiar characters and grammar patterns improves a lot with volume, so you can concentrate more of your effort on the trickier bits. In other words, getting good at the easy bits will help you read the more complex bits because large parts of any text are going to be common characters and patterns.