Chinese-Forums

Remembering the Hanzi Simplified Book 1 - when should I learn pronounciation?

adamnhms

你好,

I'm currently studying chinese characters from the Remembering the Hanzi Simplified, book 1. The book recommends it is best to learn pronounciation another time, and to focus on learning the characters themselves first. From your experience, how did you end up learning the pronounciation with chinese characters? Is it too much to learn the pronounciation/writing all at one time? Should I pause every couple hundred of words and learn their pronounciation? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

亚当

I never saw the point of that kind of books. What good are the characters without pronunciation? You still can't read. The book doesn't even tell you about the phonetic components of the characters and why they are important.

I'd advise any serious learner to not bother with any 'experimental' study methods and just stick with a traditional textbook.

• Like 2

Keep using other methods to study (textbooks, movies etc.) along with Heisig's books.

When you learn new words, you'll realize that you already know (some of) the characters in them, so learning should be a piece of cake. All that's left to learn for new words is pronunciation, and the right order of characters, which is really simple most of the time. Sometimes it's not easy, when the keywords are too similar, or when the characters look very similar. For example, 繼續 often makes me stop and think. But it gets easier over time. The more characters you know and the more words you know, the sooner it will all fall into place.