Chinese-Forums

writing characters with pen(cil) instead of a brush

ignatz

Hello, I found this very active forum thru a google search, which landed me here: http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/37222-where-i-can-find-examples-of-chinese-characters-in-pen-or-pencil-not-brush/ -- an apparently dead thread, and the sole posting on this forum by batment7. The responses are fascinating -- the very idea of cursive characters boggles my mind -- but off point, I suspect. I don't think s/he was asking about handwriting. (Why can I not get a paragraph break here?) I'm a total beginner, and focused entirely on learning radicals and characters (morphology & roots = history built into a word. Love it.) I think batment7's question was the same rank beginner question that lead to my google search: the typical font used for characters emulates brush strokes. How do I recreate that with a pen or pencil? It's futile, but my characters look so lifeless without the changing thin/thickness of the line and the little hook/flourish on the end of the stroke. Honestly, it makes it difficult to compare and judge my accuracy. I am working with online materials and books, no tutor or class. I will be moving to Hong Kong in a couple of months, thus my focus on reading and writing traditional characters. My understanding is that this will give me some foundation in Cantonese. Thank you for a very interesting forum. Way over my head at the moment, I look forward to reading it with more understanding in the future.

Hello and welcome,

I don't think you will be able to recreate the look of characters written with a brush with a pen or pencil. I have a few pens that emulate brushes, they are ok but not the same.(ZIG ART & Graphic Twin tut-80 Japan) is on the pen, brush at one end thin marker at the other end.