Chinese-Forums

Etymology of 報 (bào) not clear

lfoot

• New Members

Hello everyone

I am studying Chinese at home, focusing on writing characters. To aid character memorization I am always looking at character origins from various sources, but most often on yellowbridge.com, Often the story behind the character makes no sense to me and makes me really frustrated. For example this character (bào)

k2pe.png

A hand 又, it is a right hand radical, good

Kneeling person 卩, this character means 'seal', not a kneeling person. Where do they derive this definition from?

with handcuffs 幸, this character means luck(ily), favor, fortunately. Where are the handcuffs coming from?

How do you make any sense of it?

Thanks

LFooT

Hello,

I don't have the time right now to answer your question in detail, but if you search a bit on zhongwen.com, I think you will find good hints. They write that the early form of "seal" was a kneeling person. Also, from what I gather, the component in bào and the component xìng look alike but are not the same.

If you ask me for what sense I personally make of it - when I learnt that character, I thought, apparently, way way back in ancient times, announcements were primarily about war and military topics, for example, how criminals had been subjected. And from then on, the latter, more general meanings, had derived.

That's just my interpretation, or memory aid, of course.

But in general, I think If yellowbridge lets you down too often, consult other dictionaries too and see if they help you more.