Chinese-Forums

What universities in the U.S. (or Canada) have a good Chinese program, small class sizes, and are inexpensive?

Yadang

I have checked out some other forums on this subject, but it seems that most deal with universities not in the U.S. or deal with a summer or short-term program. The post I did find seemed a bit old, and perhaps things have changed since then...

I am a college student, currently enrolled at a college with no Chinese program. However, last year I spent as an exchange student in Taiwan. I have since realized that I want to study Chinese to a high level, and probably involve it in my career. I have applied to the University of Hawaii at Manoa, as they have a really good Asian Languages program. The only thing I’m worried about are class sizes, and so, I want to look into a few more colleges. The characteristics that are important to me are:

1. Great Mandarin Chinese language program

2. Small class sizes (in all classes - not just the Chinese ones) - so perhaps a liberal arts school, as I am in now

3. Cost is also an issue - I’d like a relatively inexpensive college, or one that gives a lot of money to people studying Chinese.

4. In the U.S., or at least nearby, like Canada, if need be

Thanks for all your help!

• New Members

I have a few friends that studied Chinese at University of Maryland - College Park, right outside of Washington, D.C. The Chinese classes are relatively small (I think ~10 people), but the other classes can be large. It's my alma mater, so I remember taking some of the general classes with 200+ students in one lecture hall. But classes in my major were about 20-30 on average. It's a state school, so the tuition is probably around 30K for non-residents of Maryland. 

Hope this helps!

• Like 1

Meng Lelan, what do you think wouldn't meet my criteria? Mainly the cost?