Chinese-Forums

Chinese movies in VCD

techie

I recently discovered the VCD's format being used for the Chinese TV programs from China and other popular programs. What a terrific way to immerse myself into the Chinese language.

Even though I am still a beginner in many ways, although I can read intermediate and some advance with the use of translation machine programs and online dictionaries, listening to these movies and programs accustomes my ear to the Chinese sound and pronunciation.

Question: Is there any way to extract from these VCD's the actual Mandarin subtitle offered in these movies?

Let me explain further. Some of the VCD I received are spoken in Mandarin and written in Simplified or Traditional Chinese in the subtitles. However the written aspect is a type of "graphic" format which if I were to grab, I cannot edit as text.

I would like to extract or obtain these written portions of the sutitle so that I may look words up in dictionaries or later use these transcripts to annote them and learn new words I have listened to.

Any ideas, comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks.

I'll move this over to another section, as it's really a computing issue. However, I think it would be very difficult, if not impossible. On a VCD the subtitles are encoded as part of the picture, not a parallel stream of data you can turn on or off like on DVDs.

You MAY be able to feed individual screen grabs into an optical character reader - but that would probably be too timeconsuming.

If they're very popular movies, could you try and find the scripts on the internet? Let us know what it is you're watching, maybe someone has a spare weekend to type it all in . . .

Roddy

PS I would imagine if you had a DVD and DVD editing software you could do this - anyone know for sure?

Yes, you can extract the subtitles from DVDs but not VCDs since it's actually a saparate file.