Chinese-Forums

What To Do While Waiting for Rent Deposit

allansy8

Hello,

I am studying in Beijing, China for only one semester (September to December, 4 months only). My agent is Home Link, are you guys familiar with that? My rent contract is made for 1 year because they said that that is standard process. My house rentals are monthly due. I have paid for 1 month deposit (refundable but with deduction for breaking the contract by staying only 4 months instead of a year), 1 month advance (used for 1st month's rent) and then maintenance fee computed by (Rent Amount * 12 months * 10%) (refundable for the unused months). 

I have no issues in all that. When time comes that I have to leave Beijing and come back home, my questions are:

1. What should I do with my deposit and other refundable fees? Should I wait for it while living in a hotel? The money that I will get back from them amounts to like a month's worth of rental or maybe 1.3 times the amount of rental. 
  2. I ask the agent when will I get my refundable fees back when I terminate my contract, they said the range is 1 week to 1 month. Is this accurate?
  3. Because when I live in a 200RMB/night hotel, it will take just 15 days to get to the amount of money I will get from my agent, so if I waited longer than 15 days, I am now losing money. 

Right now, I want to get a dorm inside my school as that will be the most convenient thing to do but the list is so long I may lose hope. What about applying for homestay as what I have read in some topic here? I definitely cannot stay in my friends' dorms as cleaning staffs go there once or twice a month, and if they get caught, they are responsible.

Can you advise me on what to do?

Thank you very much!