Chinese-Forums

Learning Cantonese at the same time as Mandarin; both from scratch (not a new learner)

Kai

• New Members

About 5 years ago I started learning Mandarin through intensive classes. I used the NPCR books number 1 & 2. After about 2 years I got to the end of the 2nd NPCR book and read, wrote, spoke and listened to about the HSK 2 level (HSK 4 for speaking about day-to-day topics). After some time living in China and other Asian countries with a large number of Chinese speakers, I returned to my home country and quickly forgot everything I knew.

I am now starting to learn again independently, using the NPCR books. Despite their drawbacks and the fact that they are good for classroom instruction but not self-learners, I am familiar with the structures so I am going to give the NPCR books a go. I have decide to learn again from lesson 1, paying special attention to tones. On this note, can anyone suggest another COMPLETE series to follow instead? I plan on learning until I am fluent, that means I an willing to learn for 10+ years.

I also want to learn Cantonese at the same time as Mandarin. Does anyone have any advice on this? Many people say that Cantonese is the same as Mandarin but with different pronunciations and more tones. I know that this is far from the truth and I find learning Cantonese a daunting task. Right now I am planning on learning Cantonese pronunciation for every word I learn in Mandarin, writing simplified script only but learning to read both simplified and traditional. I have friends who can help me with pronunciations. Does this sound like something I can do? Just learn Cantonese from a Mandarin book? And at the same time? As I have such experience with Mandarin, I won't be mixing the two languages up at all. I just worry about things like grammar and differences with the two languages that I will not pick up on in a Mandarin textbook.

Any discussion on the matter will be appreciated.