Chinese-Forums

Trying to teach in China a second time (previously worked in Korea)

DaveClaka77

I'm a 36 year old Australian male who's lived and taught English to children in Korea (from the ages of 8-15 across public and private school jobs over 3 years). I have a BA degree and a Graduate TESOL certificate. I tried to teach at a public elementary school in China once and I was in shock at how bad things seemed to be with class sizes, non-functional equipment, no books, squat toilet in apartment, no co-teacher or guidance, etc (I ran off after a few weeks, the children were also just unbelievably badly behaved which I didn't think was possible after teaching at hagwons in Korea where they can be annoying).

Compared to life in Korea (where life is fairly easy but frustrating occasionally) my short time teaching in China just freaked me out (I've travelled as a tourist to China and enjoyed it in the past). I'm looking for a bit of advice as to whether I should try teaching adults at a university or a training centre (I'm keen to try and work in China again from January 2014)? Admittedly the latter option is more tempting in regards to a bigger choice of locations (I think, I maybe wrong) and visa assistance (I'm hoping to come straight from Korea however this may or may not be possible). Can anyone compare a middle or high school to an elementary school in China (I'd consider these jobs if they're easier than an elementary school but I'm assuming they're not)? I feel I didn't give China 'a chance' the one time I tried to work there and feel I maybe should try again (or accept that maybe China isn't for me). I appreciate any views/advice.

I was in shock at how bad things seemed to be with class sizes, non-functional equipment, no books, squat toilet in apartment, no co-teacher or guidance, etc

Most of this is going to be par for the course in many schools.