Chinese-Forums

Best Chinese language school with no accommodation?

minni

Hi!

I'm currently living in Beijing and thinking of enrolling into a language school to improve my Chinese in 2014. My level's HSK4 so not a complete beginner. I already have an apartment here, so I would be interested in recommendations for language schools/universities without mandatory accommodation.

I'm a little confused because browsing different school websites I get the idea that for studying in BLCU, BNU etc. you have to live on campus. Is this true? Is the fee different if you rent your own place?

I live in Dongzhimen area, so would prefer a school that's not in Wudaokou... Any recommendations? BNU? BICC? Others?

The school needs to be able to issue 1year student visa. But I guess all the established language schools can. My budget is around 20,000 RMB for a year's study, is this realistic?

Cheers!

minni

• Like 1

You don't have to live on campus at all. At least at Tsinghua/BLCU they don't even have enough dorms for everyone.

The fee for accomodate is not included in tuition feeds. The tuition for Tsinghua when I went was 12,500 RMB per semester. If you decided to live in Tsinghua student dorms, you would pay an additional, separate fee. Not sure what that was.

Tsinghua costs about 13,000 RMB per semester http://is.tsinghua.edu.cn/EN/non-degree-programs/chinese-language.html