Chinese-Forums

Has anyone finished Heisig's Remembering the Hanzi and been disappointed?

steveboy

I've been studying Chinese on and off for two years and have hit a wall. My speaking improves, but I forget characters constantly.

I have read  about Heisig's RTH, but it always turned me off.

I think mnemonics are great and I don't mind that they are fictional, but I don't like that Heisig invents meaning for components. Please correct me if I am wrong about this?

Opinions on RTH seem divided between those who finished and say it was worth using, and those who have not read it but think it's flawed.

Is there anyone who read the whole book (not just part) and came away with a bad impression?

If nobody like that exists, then I think I will finally breakdown and submit to the gospel of RTH. 

I sort of hope this doesn't happen...

• Like 2

Whether you like it or not, and whether it's effective or not, can be two different questions. You may find it easier to remember certain characters or components because of the strength of your disregard for Heisig's invented meaning. If it's so bad it makes you vomit, by all means give it up, but if not, test yourself on the characters you've covered so far. Is it helping? There's no magic ending to the book, finishing the whole thing is no different from reading half of it, it's just more characters.

What else have you tried? And are you working on recognition or production?

Well if you want to use mnemonics in the way Heisig proposes you will end up with some components which just don't have a real meaning on their own. The logical thing Heisig did is to invent a keyword so it can be used in the mnemonics, I don't really see an alternative to that. Usually it's obvious that this is not a real meaning of the character.