Chinese-Forums

How can I improve my understanding of Chinese texts?

Milkybar_Kid

Hello,

I have been studying Chinese for three years now and I have just got to the stage where I am comfortable reading newspapers and magazines that are based around my interests 8) .

However I find that when I read an article in Chinese I don't get that deep of an understanding compared to when I read an English article.  Despite taking my time, reading slowly and looking up words that I don't know, when I get to the end of a Chinese article I find it very hard to answer questions or talk about the text.  Sometimes even remembering key details is a challenge.

The whole reading process just feels like the details aren't sticking in my head, it almost feels like it's a case of in one ear and out of the other - except for reading.

Has any one else experienced something similar?  Can you offer any advice?

Thanks 

Can you offer any advice?

Read more.

If you're reading slowly and looking up many words then your brain is probably focusing so much on the process that it doesn't have so much time to pay attention to the content.  The more you read, the easier the process will become and as long as you are regularly looking up a small number of words each day, your vocab will also be increasing.  Over time you'll find that your brain doesn't need to spend so much time on the process of reading, and can spend more time on the content.

See also these posts of mine on Reading speed and Vocab acquisition through reading.

• Like 2

I agree with Imron, practice, practice, practice. And learn vocabulary. Especially in newspaper articles, it's easy to miss the entire point of an article because you don't understand one key word (as it might be a new concept, or a new term for something). The good part about that is that entire articles can be cleared up by looking up just one or two words.