Chinese-Forums

Character Amnesia

Chiara

Hi there, I'm Chiara!

I'm attending my last year of university (in Italy university lasts 3 years), I'm studying to become an interpreter and one of the languages I'm studying is obviously Chinese. On July I'm going to graduate, my thesis is about Character Amnesia.

What do you think about this phenomenon? Does it worry you or do you think it is just a natural development of the language?

Thank you very much! :)

If you're describing the inability to recall how to write characters, I'm a chronic sufferer. My first Asian language was Japanese, not Chinese, but the principle is the same. About 15 years ago I could still recall and write by hand around 2000 characters, but now I doubt if I can write from memory a tenth of that. However, my reading ability has been largely unaffected. In fact, it's growing every month! Since I've been using the keyboard to input characters all these years, it's safe to say that my hand has 'forgot' the combinations of radicals and strokes, much like a musician's hands forget chords and progressions. In other words, I really believe that there is strong physical component to the problem. I use a trackpad sometimes to 'write' characters with my finger and that helps some, but a designated stylus would work much better. It's hard to imagine going back to paper and pen, at least for me, but people who do write down characters every day will not suffer from C.A. Also, all the radicals and strokes remain familiar to me, both in meaning and script, and I can write any character once I've seen it (I often have to look twice or compose a mnemonic though). I'll be honest- it's a lot easier to copy/paste an unknown character than to use the trackpad. Writing from memory is vital when you don't have an electronic device in front of you, but I've lived without it. The most important thing with characters and literacy is to know the radicals and other elements through and through. Hope that helps a bit.