Chinese-Forums

Need help editing a sign to find a language exchange partner.

新墨西哥人

I'm going to count this towards my New Year's resolution to move out of my comfort zone more often.

I need some help with a sign I'm writing. I have not translated it online to edit it -- I want to lay my writing bare. Although I did google "language exchange partner in chinese" as I could only guess 语言 and 换.

I'm sure there are errors and that it reads at a 3rd grade level! I'm not so against that, it shows that I'm a beginner, so maybe I'll find someone whose English is also at a beginner level. Although I guess different levels aren't a big deal, really.

--------------------------

我找语言尖换伙伴

你是中国人?想不想练习说话英文?

我是美国人和我想练习说话中文。我中文说的不好。

发电子邮件: <email here>

中文电子邮件是好的。

或者你回答电话: <phone #>

What I want it to say:

Looking for a language exchange partner

Are you Chinese? Do you want to practice speaking English?

I am an American. I want to practice speaking Chinese. I don't speak Chinese well.

Send email to: <email>

An email in Chinese is OK.

Or you can call me at: <phone #>

------------------------

Also, culturally should I include a little info about myself? Is that something they would want to know before contacting me? For example I could say, I have a kid, we could meet at the park with our kids or your grandkids (there are a lot of Chinese grandparents around here)

Thanks in advance -- Rachel

• Like 1

我找语言交换朋友

你是中国人吗?想不想练习说英文?

我是想练习说中文的美国人。

我中文说得不好。

请发电子邮件给: <email here>用中文,英文写电子邮件都可以。 

你也回可以打电话给我: <phone #>

Might not be 100% correct, but it's understandable.

The letter (Liz's) looks understandable enough.

Although if you want to nitpick, we can probably make it a little more concise:

(blah)

你可以发给我一封信: <email> ,英语、汉语都可以

给我打电话也可以: <phone>

Anyways, good luck! I'm also in the process of finding language partners, but I currently go to a uni, so I don't think I should have much of a problem.

lakers4sho