Chinese-Forums

1 year, maximize results. How?

Shai

Hello everyone,

I should be graduating on June and am planning to go on a full year of studying in China. I need some help with planning this the right way.

1. I was thinking about spending my first semester at HIT (sep-dec) as my primal goal is to get the best Mandarine I can right from the start, something which Harbin can offer (so I hear...). I have been studying Chinese for 2 years and so I would rate my level at HSK 3 左右 (still havnt taken the test though). I know I would have to face at least 2 months of freezing weather but don't plan on staying for the 寒假 obviously. However, I have no idea what to do during the vacation. What DO students do? Travel? My time is limited and so I would like to dedicate all of it for studying. Another problem is that I don't know where to go after that. But I guess I will have a better clue once I decide what to do during winter brake. So help me out on this one...

Most of my Harbin friends have heavy 东北口音, so you won't be hearing crystal clear 普通话 there. You can consider other cities as well (IMO the smaller the city the more is the motivation for studying and full-immersion).

And yeah, you can travel during the breaks :) maybe you have heard the old Chinese proverb: 读万卷书,行万里路. I learnt a lot during my 寒假 travelling last year, met a lot of different and interesting people, I had a thousand chance to practice my 口语, so it definitely worth to visit other places during your time spent in China. Most of my classmates who just sat at the dorm and had been grinding for HSK ended up with a shallower and weaker Chinese knowledge than those who went travelling a lot. These are my two cents.