Chinese-Forums

饥饿游戏 The Hunger Games

Geiko

So I've been reading the Chinese translation of The Hunger Games for a week now, and I was asked to start a topic about it (hi roddy!). 

First of all, I'd like to roughly describe my current level of Chinese, in case somebody here doesn't know how hard The Hunger Games is, if they can read it or should wait a little longer. Of course, the best way to know it would be to pick up the book, read the first couple of pages and decide by yourselves. Going to amazon.cn and skimming through the 在线试读 is very useful. But in any case, I've been studying Chinese for four years (never been to China, so my progress may have been slower than average), last year I passed HSK 4 and I plan to take HSK 5 next May 10th. Before starting The Hunger Games, I read many graded readers, The boy in the Striped Pyjamas and six novels of the Goosebumps series.

So how hard is 饥饿游戏? Compared to my previous readings, it's harder, and yet manageable. I could finish each Goosebumps novel in seven days (270 pages, 170 千字 each), whereas during the first week reading 饥饿游戏 I've only read a quarter of the book (which has 324 pages in total, 210 千字). I think the main difference lies in the amount of 成语, they are more frequent in The Hunger Games. And yet, I think it's an easy book. Even if I didn't check new words in a dictionary, I think I could still follow the main story, only a couple of paragraphs would be too confusing.

So far I'm enjoying it, it's far more interesting than the R. L. Stine novels, so I don't mind spending more time on it. I intend to copy some hard passages I struggle with, and will use this post to commit to my goal in public and encourage myself to continue reading it. If anybody wants to, feel free to join! Those of you who have already read the books and/or watched the films are welcome too, of course! I would only ask you to be careful with spoilers, maybe a (huge and clear) warning before writing would be enough.  :mrgreen: