Chinese-Forums

converting chinese text

M.C.R.

• New Members

Hi,

is there anyone using software to convert an image with chinese characters into pinyin? I know it's possible, but I don't seem to get it right.

As a beginner I get a lot of homework that consists of translating texts of characters into Dutch. This takes a lot of time because of the many new characters. Instead of drawing and look-up every single character (I can't do copy paste). I would like to focus on memorizing characters, pinyin, pronunciation, and grammar.

I scanned some pages, saved them as TIFF images, tried to convert them into PDF and read the text with MS Office document imaging. But I can't add simplified chinese to the OCR of document imaging and my trial to convert to pdf has expired.

I think Abbyy finereader 11 and MDBG Chinese reader 7 are good, but with my studentbudget I can't afford it.

Can somebody please help me?

M.C.R.

While something like this surely does exist, I will not work perfectly. Some Chinese characters have more than just one pronunciation, and it depends on context which pronunciation for a character is the right one in a given sentence.

More importantly, I question the way you want to learn Chinese. The point of the homework is obviously that you need to train how to read these characters. If you start OCR'ing whole texts even at the beginner level, you're not going to properly learn it. Of course, in the early stage such texts should only contain a very limited number of characters, and you should have been prepared on how to read them by your teacher or by whatever book you use in your classes. If your homework assignments always contain way too many characters you've never been shown before, then your teacher is not doing it right.