Chinese-Forums

Graded readers, by the numbers (characters/words, page count)

character

Thanks for posting a list of different graded chinese books series along with the number of characters and pages included in each book. I'm sure it can be useful for many people. I personally have "Wrong, wrong, wrong!" by Chinese Breeze but I didn't read it yet :( Maybe because I can't recognize many characters for now. Anyway I'm studying more seriously lately and I should definitely try to read it. After all, there aren't too many pages and characters repeat themselves. I bet the cd will be very useful as well.

I bought a series of traditional Chinese readers called 中文讀本 (Forum topic). All of them include a CD-MP3.

1. Beginner Level:

1. 你愛我嗎?愛莉在台灣的故事。31 pages
  2. 矮小的大人物-晏子。31 pages.
  3. 中國笑話。31 pages.

2. Intermediate Level:

1. 西遊記。39 pages.

3. Advanced Level:

1. 小結。55 pages.
  2. 成語故事。51 pages.

The books don't mention how many words/characters are used at each level, but leosmith (the one who started the topic about these series) made this guess: 

3 books at the beginner (300 to 500 character) level
1 book at the intermediate (500 to 1000 character) level
2 books at the advanced (1000 to 1500 character) level
Character levels are my best guess - I found no info on this, but I'm quite certain about the beginner level.
  • Like 4

Thanks everyone; I hope this thread helps people find readers which meet their needs.

The series uses Yale romanization, which is pretty easy to get used to, and bopomofo, which you should learn if you plan to spend any significant time in Taiwan.

@OneEye, the series sounds interesting.  Is the bopomofo/romanization separate from the characters, or intermingled?

@elina, may I ask how much reading material the Reading China series has per book?  I have a couple of books which seem to be based on the series (example) which only have about ~20 pages of reading material each, with the rest of the pages exercises and the like.

• Like 1