Chinese-Forums

Pleco: best dictionary for beginners

ralphmat123

Hi there,

I'm a complete beginner to learning Chinese (Mandarin) and I've started downloading some apps on my phone to help me learn and one app that I keep hearing about is Pleco which is supposed to be the best Chinese-English dictionary app.

However, I am unsure about some of it's features and I haven't been able to find the answers to my questions on their website, so I thought I'd ask here.

On the dictionary, it has several options in the search bar and it lets you choose between 'PLC', 'CC' and 'NWP'. I think I am right in saying that these are different dictionaries and Pleco allows you to access them all? Because when you use the different dictionaries, you do get quite different results on which words come up.

Is there one dictionary that is better for beginners? i.e. more simplified and comes up with the most common word rather than long definitions etc?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and if you have any other ideas of apps or anything that are good for learning Chinese, please just let me know.

Thanks in advance! :) 

Tuttle Learner's Chinese-English Dictionary is the best dictionary on Pleco for beginners. All words are useful, have example, sentences, and gives the meanings of characters in multi-character words.

• Like 1

Sorry you couldn't find your answers on our website - you might also check our discussion forums at plecoforums.com since there's a lot more Pleco-specific discussion available there.

It sounds from your post like you're on Android and like you're mainly looking for help with English-to-Chinese - is that correct? And from the dictionary selection it sounds like you've either downloaded a demo version of our Basic Bundle or already purchased it - which is it?