Chinese-Forums

Mandarin zone - private mandarin school / LTL

GdzLL

Hello everybody!

So it's my first post here on the forums, even though I have been looking for information here regarding China for for quite some time.

I'm traveling to China in July and I'm still in search of a good private school that I'd like to attend. I'm planning on doing 2 weeks of school and 2 weeks of traveling, probably going to stick to Beijing, Shanghai and Xi'an. I have studied Mandarin for 10 months now, and finished NPCR 3, which would make me an elemenatry learner (?) .

I have been looking for schools, and a few that have caught my interest have been Ltl and Mandarin zone. I know that Ltl has been receiving outstanding reviews in terms of quality of teaching, and I have been in contact with the school. They seem very professional, serious about what they do and you'll definitely be getting value for your money. But I'm a student, and budget is big for me. They are offering 1on1, 2 weeks,  60 min class,  20 h/week for 8462 rmb. That'd be about 211 rmb/hour. Is this a bit on the expensive side? I don't know the current situation with private schools and what the general price is for an hour of private tutoring, but I'd believe you could get good tutoring for 100 rmb / hour? Now I don't have experience regarding this, that's why I'm asking!

Another school is Mandarin Zone in Beijing, offering 1on1, 2 weeks, 50 min class, 20/h week for 5200 rmb. That'd be 130 rmb/ hour. Anybody got experience regarding this school?

Does somebody have other suggestions, tutors, private teachers? Group classes? I've studied through books this entire year, and I'm in need of tons of practical learning. Is 130 the lowest I can get, or could I get good tutoring for an even lower price? A bonus with these schools is that they are offering homestays --> tons of practice!