Chinese-Forums

Qiao Hu Study Guides for Beginners

victorhart

An administrator on this forum suggested I post links to Qiao Hu videos and comment on the episodes. I thought it was a great idea and I've decided to write Qiao Hu Study Guides at least once a month. I've already written my guide for June 2014. I am pretty much a total beginner (I watch an average of 30 minutes of authentic videos a day and nothing else and started on January 17, 2014), and these guides are written exactly for my level, so they may not be useful for higher levels. However, I would venture to guess that anybody with under 1,000 hours of Mandarin study under the belt will benefit greatly from Qiao Hu, and while the guide itself may not be that helpful, the selection of episodes I provide probably will be.

I will post new guides here on the forum, but will keep the history of all the guides for download on my blog on this page: www.mandarinexperiment.com/mandarin-video-sources/qiao-hu-study-guides/

Here is the introduction from my blog:

At least once a month, I will write a study guide for a Qiao Hu episode. If you are new to this page and are a beginning student of Chinese who would like to use these study guides, I suggest starting from the first guide and then using them sequentially. I will write these guides for exactly my level of Chinese, which I still consider total beginner but, by the time my experiment is up, I hope will be at an intermediate level (at least low intermediate) in terms of listening comprehension. Each guide will indicate the level I was at when I wrote it by the number of hours of viewing I had done at that point in time. (It is therefore plausible that I will make two or more guides on the same episode for different levels).