Chinese-Forums

Hanzi textbooks and the like

Dan Bang

Hi,

as posted in the other thread I'm a beginner in Chinese... I'm searching for textbooks and the like (even premade flashcards) that could be useful in learning Hanzi, that could provide me with different techniques and methods, that could give me an insight in the particular characters that would help me remembering them, etcetera - both in the short and the long run... All suggestions are appreciated! Especially if they include where to buy the stuff... Thanks in advance!

• 1 month later...

Depends what level you are really. I am at beginner level and I find that the kids books are good, the one I have has english, pinyin, tone, stroke order, and nice large pictures of the characters, plus pictures of the foot, cloud, old man or whatever it is. Also you can buy flash cards with the characters on them, or posters of nothing but characters, posters of body parts with associated characters, posters of vegetables, etc etc . When I was (trying) to do a chinese language course at a university recently it was very character intensive and so I had to get all these kind of things to help me. Also everyone says that you should write them out many times each, so the blocks of paper printed with larger squares is quite useful to get the positioning correct of the various parts of the character.

I got all these things in a good book shop in a fairly small town in china, but if you are out of china I dont know where you would get them. Perhaps you can get someone to ship them to you from china?

The searches I did on google came up with some chinese book suppliers but these are fairly obscure and certainly wont be stocked.

Hope this helps.

I really like Reading and Writing Chinese by Li and McNaughton, and the book comes in both a traditional and reformed flavor (I recommend the traditional version even if you are primarily learning simplified).