Chinese-Forums

How to learn Hanzi

Dan Bang

Hi,

I'm a total beginner when it comes to Hanzi (and Chinese) - and I'm really strugling with the characters... I was wondering which methods and techniques you guys use to remember the characters and so on? There must be some useful experiences out there that could become handy for an ignorant person like me... Thanks in advance!

Just as if you were back in elementary school, practice writing some every morning and try to read as much as possible. I personally write two new characters 20 times each every morning and I do exercises in a Chinese textbook and look each character I don't know in a dictionnary... As time goes, I open my dictionnary less often ;)

Hi' date='

I'm a total beginner when it comes to Hanzi (and Chinese) - and I'm really strugling with the characters... I was wondering which methods and techniques you guys use to remember the characters and so on? There must be some useful experiences out there that could become handy for an ignorant person like me... Thanks in advance![/quote']

Repetition is key. You can also take time to try and learn all the radicals. If that is no good for you, sometimes when I was just beginning, I would try think of what little aspects of the character looked like to me, and remembered that.

I suggest that you should pay a lot of attention to the component parts of the characters. For example, if you're learning the character 海 hai3 (sea), never try to learn it by heart as a sheer sequence of strokes, but rather analyse its parts. In that way, you will realise that it is based on 每 mei3 (each), which, in turn, is an extension of 母 mu3 (mother). So, you can remember these three characters as a sequence, 母 -> 每 -> 海, where each character adds a common stroke pattern to the previous one.