Chinese-Forums

Review of 天鹰学院 (Tiānyīng xuéyuàn)

Skunq

I mentioned I had studied Chinese at this school in another thread, so roddy asked me to write a review.

The school is placed in 五道口 (Wǔdàokǒu) on the main road 成府路 (Chéngfǔ lù) in the same building as the McDonald's close to the subway station and is on 8th floor. There is also another Chinese school in that same building called Global Village.

I studied at Tiānyīng from October 2013 to February 2014 and was quite satisfied. I went for the cheapest package which just gave me one 口语 (spoken language) class (1.5 hour) every day from Monday to Friday. I cannot remember the exact figures, but I think I paid about 4500 RMB for 6 months including the study visa, which is about 500 RMB and takes roughly three weeks to process. If paying for a full year it would have been around 8000 RMB. You can of course go for a bigger package with two classes each day or pay for extra HSK classes and so on. I, however, prefer to spend less time in the classroom and more time self-studying or practicing with Chinese friends. Having just 1.5 hour each day worked perfectly for me as it allowed me to practice my 口语 a bit every day, then go home to continue practice reading and writing, listening and studying grammar (using the New Practical Chinese Reader books).

If you are a serious student then you will most likely get ahead of your classmates quite fast. It seemed to me that most of the students there were also studying at one of the universities nearby or working, so there were not many full-time Chinese students like me. Consequently, there wasn't much opportunity for sparring with my classmates, and it would mostly be them learning from me when I came up with new vocabulary or sentence structures that I had learned out-of-class. This wasn't such a big problem though as most of the talking would be short conversations between the teacher and one student at a time.