Chinese-Forums

Interesting question: Can I change ANY foreign currency in China for RMB?

sujeto

You will need to ask the banks. The bigger the bank the more likely it will change more currencies.

Can't you bring a venezualan debit card and withdraw money from ATMs at the official rate? I thought if you were travelling overseas to study the venezualan government allowed you to withdraw a lot more than the normal limit while overseas.

fanglu certainly, due to your answer I'm guessing you must know something abour our limit of withdraw money from ATMs. It's a bit complex to explain but in short, nope, I can't freely go to ATMs and extract USD, RMB or any foreign currency at official rate with my Currency.

So I was wondering, what If I carry with some Venezuela Cash on my wallet, will this one be accepted in China anyhow???? 

I wouldn't bet on being able to change Bolivars. I've no experience with Bolivars, but in my experience it can be notoriously hard to exchange 'smaller' currencies outside their originating countries, even in the neighbouring countries. If smaller currencies are exchanged it's often not at the standard exchange offices but by a major/national bank, so not at the airport. So I think Bolivars will at best be hard to change and at worse not accepted at all.

Even the big traditional reserve currencies are sometimes refused specially if you have old worn banknotes. I think you should bring one of the major currencies like USD, Euro, Yen, etc... These will give you the least hassle and best rates.

Background: http://rt.com/business/venezuela-dual-rate-forex-065/