Chinese-Forums

Review of Contemporary Chinese (Revised Edition): Textbook 1 by Wu Zhongwei (吳中偉)

Hofmann

This is a review of Contemporary Chinese (Revised Edition): Textbook 1 by Wu Zhongwei (吳中偉), . I'm writing this as a participant in a giveaway.

tl;dr: Meant to be used with recordings and a classroom. Will get the job done, but does not exhibit the fact checking and polish of the best textbooks.

This is meant to be used with recordings, an exercise book, and an instructor’s book, which I don't have.

This book is meant for complete beginners, and aims to bring them to a level where they can participate in simple transactions. Using the ACTFL standards, this would be somewhere in the Intermediate level.

There are eight units, plus an introductory unit (Unit 0) about Hanyu Pinyin, ranging from greetings to giving directions.

Each unit contains two dialogue-focused sections, and one “language points” section. Each dialogue section starts out with a list of learning objectives, key sentences (demonstrating the types of sentences the learner may be able to produce from the lesson), preliminary exercises, a vocabulary list, and a text (in the form of a dialogue). The dialogue is to be used with recordings and some group activities. The “language points” section contains explicit instruction about grammar, phonology, morphology, etc. It also includes some cultural notes. After the units are an extra dialogue called a “supplementary text” about pandas, and two “folk songs”: 賣湯圓 and 康定情歌, both modern compositions.