Chinese-Forums

Study advice for Chinese in South Africa

丹尼尔

Hey guys,

Firstly, thank you for an extremely fun & informative forum!

I am hoping to get some advice/ideas on a course I would like to do, but first I should introduce myself and give you some background information.

My name is Daniel, hold a BSc, and am about to turn 27. I have some work experience in my field of studies (paid government internships), but due the work environment and prospects*, I am not very attracted to this path.

I have studied 4 consecutive semesters at 北京语言大学 and passed the HSK 5 and am currently preparing for my HSK 6. I really enjoy studying Chinese a lot!  Apart from Chinese, I speak German fluently and my Afrikaans (what the band 'die antwoord' rap) is alright.

Since starting Chinese I have always wanted to do something professionally with the language and understand in many instances it is more of a 'supporting skill'  than an actual skill in itself. I have previously been 'offered' a well-paying job at a Chinese tourism firm here in operations (interview was in Chinese etc.), but unfortunately the offer has been retracted due to internal problems and my personal time constraints.

So…Stellenbosch University (to my knowledge one of the best universities on the continent) offers a one-year full time honors class (what we do in South Africa after a 3 year degree and before a masters) in Chinese as a modern language. I have spoken to the responsible lecturer and it is quite likely that I am eligible for the course. Looking at the course layout I have already covered most of the material in D班 and through my own studies, it also seems like the majority of the students enrolled for the course either have a 'limited' knowledge of Chinese with only some having passed HSK 3/4 after the 3 year degree.