Chinese-Forums

colloquial chinese...

JackP

Has anybody else used Colloquial Chinese for beginners by Ken Qian.

And which one... I've read that Channamasala used it, but there seem to be three versions ranging in price from around $20 to $55.

They seem to have around the same number of pages and all three are with tapes, but apart from the ISBN numbers and one of them being called "The Complete Complete Course for Beginners" and the others "A Complete Language Course" I can't see the difference...

Any help or other recommendations for a complete beginner would be great...

• 1 month later...
Guest christopherpriest

Colloquial chinese publised by routlege comes in two flavours. The original by P.C. T'ung and D.E. Pollard is wonderful, funny and well written. The cover and some of the content is pro communist so it was rewritten by Qian.

The two books are totally different and only share the publisher and name. I find Qian pedantic and so lacking in humour that I could not use it.

Both books are written in Pin Yin. ie. Chinese written in Roman characters except for a very small introduction to characters. This is fine to get started but I found there is a limit to the use of Pin Yin. There are so many synonyms in chinese when written in Pin Yin that reading becomes difficult. When the same story is written in characters, the characters are different and the meaning is clear.

Somehow, when speaking the synonym issue does not arise. When speaking you will hear a charifier word added on the first use of a word that would be confusing. Also you can ask when confused and you can't ask a book.

This would be like a conversation about chocolate milk. Once everyone is clear we are talking about chocolate milk, we can drop the word chocolate and from then on we only talk about the milk. If you come to the conversation late then you would think the topic was white milk.

Christopher Priest

• 1 month later...