Chinese-Forums

Looking for chinese books about gendercide

teresa90

Hi everyone! I'm a graduate student and I'm looking for something to translate for my thesis. It will be about gendercide in China as consequence of the One-Child Policy, so I am desperately in search for some book about this argument, written in Chinese, of course. Can anyone help me? Xiexie nimen!

I've heard people claiming that it happens in China, but it's unlikely that there are any studies reputable, or otherwise, that would cover the topic as this would make the government look really bad if true. And without the government at least looking the otherway, you wouldn't be able to collect enough data to make for a reliable study.

That's not to say that it doesn't happen, but when I was over there I wasn't seeing the sort of sexism that would suggest a preference of such strength. Granted, my Chinese wasn't that good, but who knows.

I don't have any ideas directly, but perhaps check the bibliographies of the books you already found to see if they cite anything in Chinese.

Skylee: what's wrong with studying something taking place in China? Paying attention to Occupy Central doesn't mean we also need to pay attention to Occupy Wall Street. I'm confident India is getting plenty of attention from other people (who in turn might not be looking at China).

Do you also study the gendercide in India?

I was reading a recent opinion piece on why India will never catch up with China and one of the reasons the writer came up with is gender inequality.

http://www.business-standard.com/article/opinion/why-china-really-leads-india-114121001134_1.html